Wednesday has already been described, so, Thursday …

More of the same. I spent some more time on the circ desk, decided to move a few things around in the collection, and got ready for my first board meeting. The board meeting ran until 9:15ish, making for a 12 hr, 45 minute day (minus 20 minutes each for lunch and dinner) – not counting the commute! By the end of the day, I had met all of the paid staff. I also learned how to run reports in the ILS (Millennium) and ran a dusty books report showing everything that hadn’t circulated for two years.

Friday morning was spent taking care of tasks that came from the board meeting. I also put together some ideas and requirements for the intern who is putting together our new website. I hadn’t slept much the night before, so by lunch time I was dragging a little. The board had approved a motion for me to purchase a laptop, and after doing some research I found the best price at the Best Buy in Fairview Heights and took a long lunch to pick it up and purchase new blinds for the library workroom (the ones I inherited were both broke).

Google Maps lied about travel time, and I got back to the library later than I had wanted to. I got one of the new blinds put up, but I needed a power drill to do it right, so I decided to put off the project until Saturday. Instead, I started to set up my new computer, which led to more frustration. The way the library’s LAN is set up, we are out of IP addresses. Currently, I’m waiting for the fix from our tech guy.

I made it to the library an hour before open Saturday and got the first blind installed correctly. As I started on the second, our bookkeeper showed up and we talked for awhile. I eventually installed the second and put together a previously unused storage shelf for our workroom – my goal for the day. The rest of the morning was spent chatting with a couple of board members who came in for their reserve books and finding the right edition of a book for a teen patron.

Otherwise, I’m working on ordering my first batch of books and setting up a tracking system for their budget. The tasks for this coming week include:

  • Find out what’s going on with our internet and get it fixed
  • Introduce myself to the school principals, church pastors, etc.
  • Brainstorm for an advocacy plan
  • Brainstorm for future programming
  • The June employee schedule

So much to do.

